Oversight Committees


The MTRAC for Life Sciences Innovation Hub Oversight Committees are comprised of global biotech business experts, leaders in translational science, and technology transfer experts. In addition to reviewing and selecting proposal awards in the areas of Device/IT and Therapeutic/Diagnostic, members of the Oversight Committees and their colleague networks will serve an informal mentorship role to research teams as their projects progress.


Arik Anderson
Chief Executive Officer

Keith Brophy
Director, Business Lab
Blue Cross Blue Shield Emerging Markets

David Casimir, J.D., Ph.D.
Patent and Litigation Attorney
Casimir Jones

James Eadie, M.D.
Santé Ventures

Gene Parunak
Managing Director
In2being, LLC

Bryce Pilz, J.D.
Director of Licensing
University of Michigan Office of Technology Transfer

Jahon Rafian
Arboretum Ventures

Jeff Rinvelt
Renaissance Venture Capital Fund

Therapeutic / Diagnostic / IT

Anurag Agarwal, Ph.D.
Osage University Partners

Richard Douglas, Ph.D.
formerly Senior Vice President of Corporate Development at Genzyme Corporation

Dave Gregorka, M.B.A.
Venture Partner
Baird Capital

Kenneth S. Kilgore, M.S. Ph.D.
Director, Partnered Pharmacology Immunology Therapeutic Area
Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

David Kim, M.D.
Chief Executive Officer
DigiTx Partners

Gary Krishnan, Ph.D.
Global Lead for External Innovation, Endocrine
Eli Lilly & Company

Brad Martin, Ph.D.
Senior Director of Commercialization Programs
Fast Forward Medical Innovation

Ed Pagani, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Health Technologies
University of Michigan Office of Technology Transfer

Dave Repp, M.S., M.B.A.
Assistant Director of the Venture Center
University of Michigan Office of Technology Transfer

Hannah Shen, Ph.D.
Associate Director

Deborah van Riet, M.B.A.
Senior Director, Strategic Initiatives, Immunology


Drew Bennett
Associate Director, Software, Mobile, and Digital Technologies
University of Michigan Office of Technology Transfer

Zain Ismail
University of Windsor

Joseph Jankowski
Senior Advisor – Henry Ford Innovations
Henry Ford Health System

Brent Mulder
Senior Director, Innovations
Spectrum Health

Scott Olson
Director- Wayne State University MTRAC
Wayne State University

Ed Pagani, PhD.
Associate Director, Health Technoloies
University of Michigan Office of Technology Transfer

Jaideep Rajput
Director, Commercialization
Beaumont Health

Frank Urban
Director of Venture Creation – Life Sciences
Michigan State University Innovation Center


Have questions about the MTRAC for Life Sciences Innovation Hub? Contact Michelle Larkin, MSE, MTRAC Program Manager & Sr. Biomedical Innovation Specialist, at michcote@umich.edu or 734-615-7886.